The SW Graduate School of Banking at SMU Cox provides world-class education to develop banking leaders who elevate their industry and community.

Founded in 1957 by a group of Dallas banking leaders and SMU officials, SWGSB was led by professor Richard B. Johnson, Ph.D., for its first 23 years.

Together with some of the industry’s foremost executives and SMU’s leadership, Richard B. Johnson guided the program and established a board of trustees to formally oversee its governance. An excellent innovator and administrator, Johnson added other programs and publications to meet the educational needs of a dynamic financial marketplace.

Under its present leadership, SWGSB at SMU Cox continues to evolve in its offerings and oversees the SW Graduate School of Banking, the ABA Commercial Lending Schools, the Certified Community Bank Director’s Program, the Assemblies for Bank Directors, the Workshops for Bank Directors, the Community Bank Directors Conference, and several key financial services industry partnerships.

Today, we’re known for our exceptional educational experiences, as SWGSB at SMU Cox strives to be the nation’s leading graduate school of banking.

Board of Trustees

Faculty & Staff

William T. Chittenden, Ph.D.

President and CEO

Read More

Seth N. Bennett

IT Manager, Associate Director

Read More

David Davis

Chief Operating Officer, Managing Director

Read More

Merrill J. Reynolds Jr.

Managing Director, National Certified Community Bank Director’s Program

Read More

Edmond J. Seifried

Chief Economist

Read More

Sponsors & Partners

Request more information.

More Info