SW Graduate School of Banking at SMU Cox Announces Additions to its Board of Trustees

The SW Graduate School of Banking (SWGSB) at SMU Cox has added three new trustees to its roster of highly respected leaders. F. Scott Dueser, chairman, president, and CEO of First Financial Bank, N.A.; William R. “Chip” Jenkins, CEO of The First State Bank; and Susannah T. Marshall, bank commissioner of the Arkansas State Bank Department.

“I’m proud to welcome our three newest trustees—all SWGSB alumni—who increase the breadth of knowledge, experience, and influence of our organization,” said SWGSB President and CEO William T. Chittenden, Ph.D. “The SW Graduate School of Banking at SMU Cox is known for providing exceptional educational experiences, and our board of trustees is key to our mission to be the nation’s leading graduate school of banking.”

F. Scott Dueser
Chairman, President, and CEO
First Financial Bank, N.A.
Scott Dueser started his banking career in 1971 and joined First National Bank of Abilene in 1976. He is chairman, president, and CEO of First Financial Bankshares, Inc. and First Financial Bank N. A. Dueser has served as chairman of the Texas Bankers Association, president of the American Institute of Banking, and chairman of the International Financial Conference. He served on the Texas Tech University Board of Regents from 2005–2009 and was board chairman from 2008–2009. In 2023, he received the Distinguished Banking Service Award from Texas Tech University. He received a bachelor’s degree in Finance and Accounting from Texas Tech University in 1975 and graduated from the SW Graduate School of Banking at SMU Cox in 1981.

William R. “Chip” Jenkins III
The First State Bank
Chip Jenkins is a fourth-generation banker currently serving as CEO of The First State Bank (FSB) in Louise, Texas. Jenkins has more than 28 years of banking experience and has widely been recognized as an advocate of the industry, highlighted by his tenure as the 133rd Chairman of the Texas Bankers Association. His passion for his community has also led him to serve on the boards of several local organizations including as president of El Campo Rotary Club, El Campo Economic Development Corporation, and West Wharton County Hospital District. Jenkins has a bachelor's degree in International Studies from Southern Methodist University and is a graduate of the SW Graduate School of Banking class of 2000.

Susannah T. Marshall
Bank Commissioner
Arkansas State Bank Department
Susannah Marshall was appointed the 22nd Commissioner of the Arkansas State Bank Department in 2020 and reappointed to a second term in 2023. She served as deputy bank commissioner for 13 years. Marshall additionally serves as Arkansas Securities Commissioner and serves on the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council’s State Liaison Committee. She began her career as a commercial bank examiner in 1995. The Women’s Foundation of Arkansas and Soiree magazine named her one of the 100 Women of Impact in 2023. Marshall earned a bachelor’s degree in Accounting from Arkansas State University, Jonesboro, in 1994 and graduated from the SW Graduate School of Banking at SMU Cox in 2002.

To read more about the SW Graduate School of Banking Board of Trustees, visit swgsb.org/about.


The mission of the SW Graduate School of Banking (SWGSB) at SMU Cox is to be the most trusted educational source for loan officers, bank directors, regulators, commercial lenders, operations officers, marketing officers, and management professionals. Since 1957, SWGSB has been a nationally recognized leader in bank management education at the corporate level, serving financial services professionals with banking education, bank management training, and bank director training programs. Learn more at swgsb.org.