Susannah T. Marshall

Bank Commissioner
Arkansas State Bank Department

Susannah Marshall was appointed the 22nd Commissioner of the Arkansas State Bank Department in 2020 and reappointed to a second term in 2023. As bank commissioner, she is responsible for the regulation, supervision, and examination of Arkansas state-chartered banks, bank holding companies, a trust company, and Arkansas Capital Corporation. As of December 31, 2023, the agency supervised 73 state-chartered commercial banks with total assets over $161 billion.

Marshall additionally serves as Arkansas Securities Commissioner and serves on the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council’s State Liaison Committee. As securities commissioner, she is responsible for oversight of the securities industry, nondepository mortgage lending industry, money services industry, state-chartered credit union industry, and state-chartered savings and loan industry in Arkansas.

She began her career as a commercial bank examiner in 1995, later serving as financial analyst and fInancial analyst supervisor. She served as deputy bank commissioner for 13 years prior to becoming commissioner.

Marshall is a trustee on the Arkansas Teachers Retirement System Board of Directors, a member of the State Board of Finance, and a member of the Arkansas Financial Education Commission. In 2011, Arkansas Business recognized her as one of its 40 under 40 honorees. The Women’s Foundation of Arkansas and Soiree magazine named her one of the 100 Women of Impact in 2023.

Marshall earned a bachelor’s degree in Accounting from Arkansas State University, Jonesboro in 1994, and graduated from the SW Graduate School of Banking at SMU Cox in 2002.